Scooby-Doo Where Are You The Complete Series with Mystery Machine.
Scooby-Doo, Shaggy, Velma
Daphne, Fred
41 Episodes 8 DVD
Warner Home Video 2010

You know someone really loves you when you get Scooby-Doo Where Are You The Complete Series in its very own Mystery Machine. The 8 DVD set features all 41 episodes and 3 seasons of this TV cartoon classic. The eighth DVD is for the special features. The cartoons here look good with some specs and dust particles here and there as you would expect.

The Mystery Machine is way way cool. The DVDs themselves are held in accordion style cardboard holders. Do be careful as the holders are not glued very well at the seams and the discs easily slip out from the sides.

The premise for a Scooby Doo episode is It was a dark and stormy night. Fred, the world driver in terms of getting to point B from point A gets the gang lost on yet another deserted road. They encounter a mystery and solve the mystery and capture the bad guy after a few chase scenes and a complicated trap that usually does not work. The cool thing is the mystery itself is always explained and the logistics of it always make sense.

Yes, the episodes always follow the same formula. Yes, the animation is a bit generic and reuses certain scenes and backgrounds. Seriously, who cares. Scooby-Doo Where Are You is a really fun cartoon.

Seasons 1 and 2 of Scooby Doo Where Are you? aired between 1969 and 1970 while season 3 aired eight years later.  It is odd that Scooby Doo Where Are You The Complete Series in a Mystery Machine does not include the 6 mid-seventies episodes Scared a Lot in Camelot, Spirits of 76, High Rise Hair Raiser, and Headless Horseman of Halloween. Not that the previously released Seasons 1 and 2 and Season 3 sets contained them either.

Special features are on DVD 8. These are a feature on Scooby-Doo’s world-wide recognition, a feature on how the series began, and The Scooby Gang In Their Own Words where the original voice actors talk about their experiences.

Saturday Morning Cartoons 1960s Volume 2

Saturday Morning Cartoons 1970 Volume 1

The Huckleberry Hound Show – Volume One

1960s Saturday Morning Cartoons Volume 1



Related Posts