The Partridge Family The Fourth and Final Season
David Cassidy, Susan Dey, Danny Bonaduce
22 Episode on 3 DVD
Originally Aired 1973-74
Sony Pictures Home Entertainment 2009

The Partridge Family Season Four would prove to be the last of this situation comedy featuring America’s most famous singing family. Perhaps the show was getting tired and formulaic but this seventies situation comedy is still a lot of fun to watch some thirty-five years later. The Partridge Family The Fourth and Final Season features 22 episodes on 3 DVD and no special features.

The Partridge Family jumped the shark in the very first episode of season four: a family moves next door and cute four-year-old Ricky starts singing –if you can call it that– with the Partridges. The new cute kid trick has never worked.

Our review The Partridge Family Season 3

If you want to avoid the annoying Ricky, skip the first 6 episodes of season four, and episodes 9, 10, 12, and 19. Unfortunately, you’ll be missing some good shows too.

The best episodes from The Partridge Family season four include Morning Becomes Electric where due to the energy crisis and to get some publicity the Partridges cut back on their electric consumption and then really cut back when Danny makes a mistake reading the meter (DVD 3 of this situation comedy); Reuben Kincaid Lives where Reuben believes he is dying (DVD 1); and the episode where Keith wants to become a classical composer.

DVD 2 includes fun shows like the one where the Partridge Family pledges a day of honesty (although annoying Ricky shows up). This episode also includes my favorite Partridge tune, Roller Coaster. It also has the show where Danny drops out of school.

Look for Gordon Jump of WKRP fame as a baseball fan in the episode where Danny plays little league baseball.

No seventies sitcom DVD collection is complete without a Partridge Family set. Season four is as good as any.

Our review I Dream of Jeannie The Complete Series

Our review Maude The Complete First Season

Our review The Mary Tyler Moore Show Best of Season One

Our review Gilligan’s Island Season Three

Our review One Day at a Time Season One

Our review Sandord and Son Season 6


Related Posts